The Newest Edition to the Long Beach High School Staff: Ms. Silverman

By: Emily Hulbert

With the beginning of the new school year, Long Beach High School welcomed many new teachers to its staff. One exciting new edition to the English Department is Ms. Silverman. She teaches 9th grade English for Team C. Although this is her first time teaching in Long Beach, she has walked these halls plenty of times before: as a student. “I’ve taught at other schools, and I have to say that teaching in the same high school I went to has been my favorite so far! A lot of things have changed, and it’s very different being here as a teacher. However, at the same time there are so many things that feel familiar.”

Ms. Silverman loves being able to work with teachers who she admired as a student. Even though she already knows a lot about English, she still feels as if she is learning from her old teachers. In retrospect, Ms. Silverman has a multitude of pleasant feelings when remembering her experience as a Long Beach High School student.

            Although Ms. Silverman’s high school English teachers instilled within her a passion for good literature and writing, her decision to become an English Teacher did not take place until she was already in college. “I was at a point in my life where I was trying to figure out which career path to choose and I enjoyed working with my campers so much that I thought to myself what job can I have where I can work with kids every day?” Coming to this conclusion, it was natural for Ms. Silverman to follow a career as an English teacher. Now, with many years of experience, Ms. Silverman has found many things to love about teaching English. She tries to take advantage of all the benefits that come with teaching, from analyzing thought provoking texts to facilitating class discussions to watching her students grow.

One text that Ms. Silverman would love to introduce to the English curriculum is The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie. “The content is a little controversial, but it’s such a captivating, thoughtful piece of literature. The novel explores issues of identity as well as relevant social issues that are important for young people to reflect on.” Hopefully we will see this novel be analyzed next to Romeo and Juliet in all 9th grade English classrooms!

As a teacher who wants to make an impact, Ms. Silverman has some wise words for her 9th grade students who are as new to the school as she is. “I want to instill within my students an enthusiasm for lifelong learning. I want to help my students become more inquisitive, better problem solvers, and greater risk takers; so that they can be successful in whatever path they choose. My advice for the future is to figure out what you’re passionate about and find a way to integrate that passion into your life. Those are the people who lead happy, healthy and successful lives.”

I believe that I am speaking for both the staff and students of Long Beach High School when I say that we are honored to have such a dedicated teacher join our school community. Good Luck!

This entry was posted in LB HS. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

