Long Beach Girls Varsity Swimming Represents at State Championships

By Megan Sofield

The Long Beach Girls Varsity Swim Team swam to success in the State Championship Meet that took place at Ithaca College November 21st and 22nd. Long Beach sent two relay teams and two individual swimmers to the meet; the team was coached by Coach Skudin and Coach Volosevich. The team was extremely successful and even brought home two state championship wins in sophomore Margaret Aroesty.

“I was really nervous going into states this year because last year, being the underdog, I didn’t really have any expectations. Through the help of my coaches and my amazing teammates, I was able to channel my nerves into my races. It was a great experience taking the largest group of female swimmers Long Beach has seen and I felt honored and proud to represent Long Beach,” Aroesty stated.

The 200 medley relay team held two rookies to the state championships, sophomores Lindsay Kranitz and Brooke Harrington, as well as veterans Morgan Harrington and Margaret Aroesty.

Brooke said, “It felt amazing to compete not only in prelims, but finals as well. Swimming with the fastest high school swimmers was an amazing experience and I am so glad I got to share it with my sister and close friends.”

Kranitz added, “It was a great experience and I learned a lot from it.”

The 400 free relay team consisting of 8th grader, Kaley Skarren, junior, Morgan Harrington, and sophomores, Margaret Aroesty and Caroline Farrell did an amazing job and made us all very proud.

When asked about the experience of swimming at the state meet, Morgan said, “It was a great experience to share with my fellow section 8 swimmers and I will always remember the great memories I made.”

Farrell, who also saw success in the 200 yard freestyle, stated with a smile, “I had so much fun with my teammates and coaches! We all swam so well and I’m so proud of us. It was a great way to end a great season.”

All the girls made Long Beach very proud and represented us extremely well. Good luck to the boys swim team as they begin their 2014-2015 season!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

