Rutgers University’s Newest Lineman

By: Molly Pfaff

Long Beach High School’s very own Tariq Cole has announced his official commitment to play football at Rutgers University in New Brunswick, New Jersey.  Cole announced his decision this past Monday . A 6-foot-6, 370 lb, senior lineman for the Long Beach Marines, Cole choose the Scarlet Knights over his other offers. When asked why Rutgers University, Cole responded, ““I chose Rutgers University because the coaching staff cared the most about me.” I caught up with Cole to ask him some more questions about his monumental decision on where he will be playing football for the next four years of his career.

Q: What did you do throughout your high school career to get to where you are today?

Cole: “I worked hard, and always played my best under pressure.”

Q: What do you look forward to most for your college experience?

Cole: “I am excited to travel the country playing football.”

Q: Who was your biggest supporter throughout your high school career?

“ My coach, Butler, was always my biggest supporter because he is the man who taught                         me how to be a great person and a great football player.  He is my inspiration                         for the player I am now.”

Long Beach High School is very proud of this commitment. We wish Tariq  the best of luck in his football and academic future at Rutgers University!

This entry was posted in SPORTS. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

